#I2P does not trust parties

Screenshot of I2P router console web UI

Image via Wikipedia

I2P is an anonymising network, offering a simple layer that identity-sensitive applications can use to securely communicate. All data is wrapped with several layers of encryption, and the network is both distributed and dynamic, with no trusted parties.

I2P is still a work in progress and it should not be relied upon for “guaranteed” anonymity at this time. It is not immune to attacks from those with unlimited resources, and may never be, due to the inherent limitations of low-latency mix networks.

How it works?

For how it works, you can go here. For a gentler introduction to how I2P works, go here.

In a nutshell, it is not an Onion Router style network like TOR, though it does offer many of the same advantages. I2P allows encrypted access to other users of I2P without sharing IP addresses directly. Users can run websites, file-sharing networks, and other services through I2P. Privoxy or another proxy server can be run to allow non-I2P programs to interface more smoothly with I2P. Questions?

Installation on Linux

The basics for Debian:

Installation on Lucid Lynx

Sun Java packages have been dropped from Ubuntu 10.04 LTS from the Multiverse section of Ubuntu archive, so I got the partner repositories first.

Installing Java

Open a terminal and run the following commands.
Add partner repository using the following commands (there is more to some of these lines than meets the eye, they don’t wrap of course):

sudo add-apt-repository "deb http://archive.canonical.com/ lucid partner"

Update the source list

sudo apt-get update

Install sun java packages

sudo apt-get install sun-java6-jre

Getting the license agreement, just scroll down with down arrow, or maximize the console window, to see the complete licence agreement, and use the TAB button to select ok and accept or decline and then press enter.

Installing I2P

thumbnail of screenshotGet the latest install package from http://www.i2p2.de/download
In my case that was:

wget http://mirror.i2p2.de/i2pinstall_0.8.4.exe
java -jar i2pinstall_0.8.4.exe

Then follow the prompts.

This ends up installing to ~/i2p. If I had run it as root I could have installed to /usr/local as is explained in the YouTube clip, so all users could use it, but that causes problems of it’s own. This is better.

Configuring I2P

I2P automatically starts as soon as the installation is complete. I2P is configured using any web browser by connecting to http://localhost:7657. Click the “Configure” link on the left to configure the options. If new to I2P, leave as is for now.

Automatic startup

The easiest way to make I2P startup automatically is to add it to Gnome Session Startup. I2P will only be running when logged in.

System -> Preferences -> Startup Applications -> Add command

~/i2p/i2prouter start

Installation on Windows

I didn’t try installing I2P on an M$ box, simply cos there’s none here. If you have, please give me the story or a link to it, so we can pass it on.

Using Privoxy

Preferences -> General tab -> Connection Settings -> Click Manual proxy configuration and enter localhost with a port of 8118 and No Proxy for: “localhost, 127.0.0.1”

FoxyProxy AddOn for Browsers

FoxyProxy is an advanced proxy management tool that completely replaces Firefox’s limited proxying capabilities. It offers more features than SwitchProxy, ProxyButton, QuickProxy, xyzproxy, ProxyTex, TorButton, …

For other browsers and settings, go to the FoxyProxy forum.

Further Development of I2P

I2P is currently under development, following the roadmap. Anyone interested can join the IRC channel #i2p (hosted concurrently on irc.freenode.net, irc.postman.i2p, irc.freshcoffee.i2p, irc.welterde.i2p and irc.einirc.de).

You’ll hear more about it here too, because I am determined to get #OpMesh going wherever I am, and people are interested! 🙂

Posted on March 15, 2011, in Tools, Users and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

